The X-Men Universe started with the release of the first X-Men film in 2000. It depicts a world in which a small proportion of people are mutants, whose possession of superhuman powers makes them distrusted by normal humans.

The series as a whole has been criticized for containing inconsistencies and contradictions, although later films contain stories of time travel and multiple timelines which could help explain some of the problems. Because of this, the watch order has deviated slightly from the film’s release dates.

Universal Watch Order:
Original Trilogy
1. X-Men (2000)
2. X2: X-Men United (2003)
3. X3: The Last Stand (2006)
Wolverine Movies
4. X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009)
5. The Wolverine (2013)
Additional Movies
6. X-Men: First Class (2011)
7. X-Men: Days Of Future Past (2014)
8. Deadpool (2016)
9. X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)
10. Legion (2017)
11. Logan (2017)